Alien: Isolation is both a solid Alien game and notable addition to the series’ lore. Now, 20th Century Fox is bringing that story to a broader audience with a digital series that serves as a “reimagining” of Isolation’s plot. Much of the detail will likely be pretty similar, though, since the series is built out of the game’s cutscenes.

The digital series launches tomorrow, February 28 at 9:00 PST / 12:00 EST / 17:00 GMT. The seven episodes will come all at once, bringing together the original cutscenes while “adding in new story beats to bring the tale of Amanda Ripley to life in a whole new way.” It’s a strange announcement, but still a more welcome one than Alien: Blackout coming along as mobile game.

Perhaps most curious of all is the fact that this series, despite apparently being an official Fox production, is coming exclusively to IGN. In an especially strange twist of fate, the outlet provided some of the game’s harshest criticism upon release. IGN’s 5.9 is the lowest score registered for the game on OpenCritic, though it’s not out of line with the sixes offered by some other major publications.

Time heals all review scores, it seems.

You can get a taste of the series in the trailer above.

Related: Check out the best horror games on PC

Do not expect an Alien: Isolation 2 release date any time soon, but the knowledge that somebody in charge of the franchise is still thinking about Isolation gives us at least a little hope that the possibility of sequel remains.



Source link